Some believe that people should make efforts to fight climate change while others think it is better to learn to live with it.  Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is true that the impact of climate change is becoming increasingly palpable, leading to a vigorous debate about how to respond to this pressing issue. Whilst some people believe that we should learn to acclimatize to climate change, others, including me, argue that we should go to great lengths to counter it.

Granted, it is justifiable for some to claim that we should adapt to changes in climatic patterns, rather than finding ways to tackle it. Perhaps for them, climate change is an irreversible phenomenon, so the amounts of money as well as effort expended on solving it would eventually be rendered futile. According to this viewpoint, our focus should shift towards finding measures to coexist with climate change. In the face of rising sea levels, for instance, it becomes paramount to construct sophisticated flood defenses and implement effective water management systems.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, I am convinced that efforts should be made to solve, instead of simply adapting to, the problem of climate change. First, the fact that climate change may not be completely reversible does not imply that we cannot take steps to mitigate its effects. Such simple changes in our lifestyles as riding public transport or transitioning to hybrid vehicles can considerably lower our carbon footprint – undeniably a major contributor to climate change. The argument for such a mitigation approach is further strengthened by our moral responsibility to future generations. In other words, if we came to terms with climate change, it would be tantamount to bequeathing a hostile and uncertain world to our descendants, an outcome that we cannot justify morally.

In conclusion, whilst there are good grounds for acclimatizing to climate change, I firmly side with advocates of proactive measures to combat it, believing that mitigating the implications of this environmental crisis is feasible and that it is our moral obligation to secure a sustainable future for generations to come.