Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Others believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The issue of traditional culture has sparked debate with some believing that it is important to preserve it, while others maintain that modern lifestyles make it unnecessary. In my view, preserving traditional culture is essential for every society, as it represents national identity and helps the nation to be internationally recognized.

Firstly, having a traditional culture through national and cultural events helps individuals to preserve their national identity, which is essential as it makes people different from others and allows them to be easily recognized through their language or way of clothing. For instance, Moroccan clothing, particularly traditional clothes such as djellaba or caftan represents the Moroccan identity, which makes others notice them easily. Moreover, celebrating traditional events such as weddings allows people to meet and have quality time together, which modern lifestyles cannot afford since they limit this type of social interaction. Therefore, traditional culture carries significance through its events, clothes, and dishes.

Secondly, modern lifestyle might bring some benefits such as access to education and information, as well as global connectivity. This is because modern lifestyles have been developing simultaneously with technology, which reshapes the lives of many people worldwide and simplifies their daily tasks. For instance, thanks to technology, students can study about different subjects from their homes without being forced to go to school every day. The same development has been transforming the social lives of many individuals, as it made socialising with friends and family much easier than in the past through video calls and social media platforms. As a result, modern lifestyles can provide the society with unprecedented technologies to simplify their lives.

In conclusion, although modern lifestyles offer individuals new solutions and innovations, I strongly believe that traditional culture should be preserved through family gatherings and by preparing national dishes during special events such as weddings, as it carries great importance for national identity.