Some believe that technological development encourages crime, while others believe it decreases crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to some people, advancements in technology may contribute to increasing crime levels. Others, however, argue that the role of technology is quite positive in terms of curbing enme. Both of these perspectives offer reasonable points, but I feel technology has been a powerlul tool in reducing crime.

On the one hand, technology may foster criminal activities Due to technology, mainly the Internet, cybercrime has become one of the most serious offenses in the 21 st century. For example, thousands of individuals have fallen victim to identity theft or online banking fraud. Those who conduct these illegal activities make use of technology to hide their true identity, without physical interaction, which is why it is often hard to track them. What is more, social media or other communication platforms have provided a safe place for criminals to carry out their heinous actions, such as human trafficking, terrorism or drug trade. From this perspective, technology can be condemned to encourage crime.

On the other hand, I believe technological developments have played a crucial role in reducing crime. Firstly, they enhanced surveillance systems, with CCTV cameras and other advanced monitoring methods being widely used. Not only do they assist law enforcement personnel to investigate certain crime incident easily, but these surveillance techniques act as a deterrent for would-be criminals.