some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is believed by some people that congested roads should be resolved by alternative ways, while others are convinced that investment in urban infrastructure is a better option. I side with the latter point as transport investment helps to reduce the number of cars on the roads by building more development transport networks such as railways, underground or bus systems .

In modern society, there are a lot of different ways such as odd-even rationing to change the road situation. This method is based on the idea of restriction of access to roads and parking to some drivers on alternating days, according to the license plate. For example, the odd-even rationing system had been operating in India for a long time, and the number of cars on the roads had decreased by 30%. However, this way does not reduce the number of cars much, wealthier people purposely own two cars with different license plates to circumvent restrictions.

On the other hand, long-term investment in urban infrastructure is a positive development. If the government invests money in public transport, people will find it is more convenient to use it instead of their own vehicle. For instance, the population of London has dramatically increased in the beginning of the century, and the central area has become congested. To persuade people to stop using their own cars, the government invested money in construction of a new railway and underground system that connected the centre with work suburbs. As a result, the new network system did not only help to reduce high traffic flow in the city streets, but also reduce air pollution in the central London area and raise investment funds for further London transport reconstruction.

In conclusion, some different actions (odd-even rationing system) to reduce traffic jams can be effective but are not supported by citizens. I believe that infrastructure investment is a key priority for governments, because constant improvement of road facilities allows people to choose public transport instead of private vehicles that solve traffic problems.