some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The last few decades have witnessed a remarkable rise in traffic congestions due to the growing population and hectic lifestyles. It is believed by a certain group of people that sophisticated infrastructure in metropolitan cities would be helpful to resolve traffic issues, while others disagree with this point of view and are convinced that there are other solutions for increasing traffic congestions. I firmly agree with the latter notion.

To commence with the first opinion, proponents of advanced transportation system to be the solution of traffic problems argue that in large cities different modes of transportation should be constructed to deal with road congestions, such as metro rail tunnels and elevated highways. For instance, the capital city of India: Delhi, well-known worldwide for its growing population and increasing pollution, city residents often find themselves travelling in metro rails to avoid unnecessary delays during the peak hours; therefore, construction of alternative transportation network could reduce traffic on the roads. However, this approach requires a significant amount of funds and long time.

On the other hand, individuals who believe there are several ways to control the number of cars on the roads argue that the government should introduce new rules to prevent traffic issues. In other words, arranging funds for big city-development projects is challenging and time consuming; hence, every government should try to find other quick resolutions. To epitomize, the work-from-home policy was introduced by many organizations during the COVID-19 pandemic, and succeeded in reducing traffic problems all across the world, demonstrating the effectiveness of a superior solution in controlling traffic jams.

In conclusion, although new infrastructures would be beneficial to reduce road jams for an extended period of time, these projects involve huge costs and time. Therefore, I believe that an alternative approach would be suitable for instant solution, like the work-from-home policy.