Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Is it a positive or negative trend?

There is a view that the younger generation waste their times on their phones every day. While phones are convenient to use I firmly believe that phone should not be used by the younger generation.

There are several positive sides of using phones for children, one of them is providing educational resources like researching materials and online lessons. For example, if children have own phones they can not face problems with researching materials, which means that they do not need to buy materials they need, they just use its pdf or can easily find from websites. Moreover, if children could not understand difficult subjects, such as math and chemistry they might watch online lessons from you tube. As a result of this their knowledge can be improved.

On the other hand, however, there are also some disadvantages of using phones for children, for instance, excessive screen time can harm mental and physical health. For example, if children use their phones too much (10 hours non-stopping) it not only have a negative effect for their eyes, but also for their physical activity, meaning that if they spend their whole day on phone it effects for eye strain and perhaps caused to lack of physical activity. Another negative side is that, if they use their phones all the time they will get used to phone, which means that they cannot live without their phones.

In conclusion, it is said that school-aged children waste their time with their phones every day. Although phone opens educational opportunities for children, I think that they ought not to use their phone.