Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

There is a debate about whether providing taller buildings is a better solution to creating housing areas or if building houses on a wider area of land is better. In my opinion, providing taller buildings is a better solution to creating housing areas.

Although building houses on a wider area of land constructs housing areas, it takes up more land leaving less space for increasing the amount of homes. Taking up a bigger amount of area on land results in bigger houses, most sizes being unnecessary for occupants. Why occupy larger land area if it’s not needed or even being used? Another issue with using more land is that the amount of the population with access to proper housing would reduce, since usually larger land area (meaning larger houses) is used by a specific group of people (a family, a group of friends, etc) and not available to everyone who needs it.

Building taller buildings generates housing area while leaving vacancy for other buildings and houses to be constructed. It also provides more living space for all people in need, not taking up extra space for a lower amount of people who don’t even require it. With that, it looks more appealing. A good amount of tall buildings neatly next to each other looks better from the outside view than a bunch of bigger houses packed together.

In conclusion, while both ways give solutions to housing and housing areas, I think building taller buildings is a wiser and more efficient solution than using up a wider area of land.