Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

In recent times, housing demand is increasing worldwide due to many domestic population growth events. To address this problem, some cities are opting to build taller buildings, while others are choosing to construct homes on larger areas. Although both situations have advantages and disadvantages, high-rise buildings are a better solution. In this essay, the reason why I totally agree with this idea will be discussed in detail in the following lines.

First and foremost, it is an undeniable fact that expanding residential areas horizontally and building homes on larger spaces can provide a more comfortable living environment. Moreover, detached houses and low-rise homes offer a quieter and more comfortable life, thanks to the advantage of having gardens. In addition, it can also reduce the feeling of crowdedness associated with high-rise buildings. For example, the residences appear very crowded. Consequently, high-rise buildings are not preferred for their tranquillity and spaciousness.

On the other hand, the next point to deem is that constructing high-rise buildings allows for more efficient use of limited urban land. In large cities, land is generally both scarce and expensive. Furthermore, building upwards does not destroy natural areas such as forests or farmland, and it allows for accommodation of the growing population. At the same time, they offer people living in a more densely populated area convenience. For instance, it may offer many options in areas such as public transportation and public services. As a result, I believe that vertical development is a more sustainable and practical solution, especially in densely populated cities.

To sum up, considering all of the factors mentioned above, we can confidently say that while both methods have some certain advantages, constructing high-rise buildings is generally a better solution for modern cities due to the efficient use of space and environmental benefits.