Some cities have vehicle free days where private cars,trucks and motorcycles are banned in city centres.Only bus,bicycles and taxis are permitted in the city centre.Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages?

City councils ban private vehicles in city centres over different days of the week, most frequently weekends. They allow either bicycles or public transport in these days. This way cities can counter pollution in an effective and efficient way. This also helps council or administration to encourage people to use public transport reducing traffic exponentially. The benefits of banning private vehicles on someday has more benefits than disadvantages.

Foremost, vehicle free days help in drastically reducing pollution and greenhouse gas emissions. Cities which have car free zones have seen massive drops in pollution. This increases the air quality of cities, resulting in enhanced public health, lowered health costs. Moreover, promoting walking and cycling increases the physical health of citizens. There are less chances of heart diseases and obesity.

Traffic less cities are safer and visibly pleasing. Vehicle free days help with lesser traffic and decrease accidents. There is also an argument that it inconveniences residents and harms people who are reliant on cars and private vehicles. There should be electric cargo vehicles for delivery purposes.

In conclusion, vehicle free days helps in reducing pollution and provides health benefits which strongly outweighs its adverse effects.