Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

There are some companies that require their staff to wear uniforms for the entire time they work. This allows customers to recognize the staff easily and provides the staff with a sense of unity, these are some benefits. On the other hand, the inability to express themselves through fashion freely is a drawback.

Wearing the same uniform gives staff members the idea that they are part of a team, thus feeling more united. Hence, companies that enforce uniform regulations have a staff that work better together. Having a uniform also means that the staff does not need to stress over what to wear. Some people find the process of having to choose what to wear everyday tedious and stressful, others feel inferior to their colleagues because they cannot afford clothes as expensive as theirs, having a uniform takes off these burdens. There is no unhealthy competition among staff over clothes and no one is taunted for their choice in fashion. All of these contribute to stronger relationships among staff members. Furthermore, uniforms also make it easier for customers to recognize staff members. For example, in a grocery store customers will have a difficultly differentiating staff from other customers of they are not in uniform.

Having a uniform also limits a person in staff of how much they can express themselves through their clothes. To many people their clothes are a part of their identity and in a uniform they feel that they are not representing themselves truly. They feel as though their identity is being veiled, which can be oppressive. Many staff members don’t like that uniforms strip away the uniqueness that they cherish. Oftentimes, the staff also bonds over their choice in attire, for example, when somebody recognizes a band in the t-shirt another member of staff chose to wear, they discover a common interest which helps them bond. Uniforms take away such opportunities.

In conclusion, while uniform regulations enable customers to efficiently recognize staff and strengthen staff relations, there are missed opportunities for building better relationships through clothing as well and an inability for self-expression.