Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Some people prefer buying products which were produced by local factories than imported ones because of a few reasons. There are two points of view of this complex situation. Meanwhile, for local residents it is more positive trend with advantages, for some companies it has several negative consequences.

There are two reasons for this, that are advantages for consumers at the same time. Some parts of society choose to purchase food or clothes from local factories due to the prices. It is so expensive to deliver products from other countries, cities or areas, so at the end this product will cost more than at the begging. Moreover, people may consider it as more reliable for them. However, not always local goods have perfect quality, often even worse than imported ones. Therefore, buying native items does not mean buying quality items, people should check it before paying for that.

If for consumers it is more positive than negative trend, for companies and factories it is opposite. Because of people who prefer buying local goods, sales of imported products are significantly decreased. Also, sometimes it is not beneficial for companies. They invest a lot of money to produce products and deliver them in other districts, but companies do not get enough money from sales. However, not everyone buy items produced only in their local area and companies can get their money from other consumers who are not afraid of unknown products and have enough money to buy foreign goods with excellent quality.