Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

In today’s world, international trade is considered a good channel to enhance counteris’ economy . However, consumers, nowadays, opt for purchasing locally-produced products over other imported counterparts. I believe that this tendency is mainly because of the stable supply, the quality and the reasonable prices offered by local goods. From my perspective, this trend holds numerous benefits for not only the countery but also the environment.

One of the fundamental reasons for choosing local products is the maintenance supply. Owing to the avaliability of the national goods, customers can find them nearby without any expected shortage or dalay in transportation. For instance, during the pandenmic period of Corona virus, due to a complete lockdown of international exchange, people could have been starved if it was not for locally-produced basic goods. Another cause for the consumers’ preferance of national goods over international ones is the high quality with affordable prices. This is because those local goods are produced from national farms and factories where they are freshly prepared and delivered. This ultimately gurantees the quality and lower prices as there is neithe unnesessary harmful preservative nor transportaion costs.

In my opinion, I agree that supporting local industries has great effects for the local economy as well as the environment. Firstly, the noticeable increase in demand of local products creats job opportunities in order to meet the customers needs. As a result, governments should not indure the burden of unemployment. Additionally, imported goods must be delivered via multiple means of transportation which unfortuanately increases carpon footprint. This can be tackled by producing goods locally where they will be consumed.

To conclude, thanks to the avaliability of the stable supply of high quality national goods with affordable prices, customers opt to purchase them over their imported competitors. This trend, in my opinion, affects the society and the ecosystem positively.