Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

It is believed, some individuals are attracted towards locally produced goods rather than imported goods. Although buying imported products can benefit the society whereas local products can help local farmers. However, the question remains: How these goods affect society? I believe in a balanced-approach, as it help yield more pfoduce as well as income for society while importing produce can bring exotic produce that are unavailable in that certain region.

To commence with, if individuals start purchasing local products directly from farmers. This will increase sales for farmers and society. While deprived from imported product may not seem realistic. Undoubtedly, it is understandable that taxes are mostly implied on such products. I suggest a balanced approach would benefit individuals as well as society. For instance, hundreds of mango varities are grown in Asia. So, they import to different country and vice-versa.

The main reason for customers for choosing local produce is to have healthy life style. In today’s modern world individual are more cautious towards health. They prefer healthy foods such as fresh fruits, veggies, etc over junk foods such as burgers, chips and sugary drink. Due to their awareness, problems such as cholestrol, deficiencies can be avoided.

Another key reason contributed in this change is inflammation. According to report published after co-vid, inflammation is increasily rapidly than a country’s economy. Compared to past few years we can see a significant change in increasing prices mostly on the imported goods. To recover the transport, toll tax, etc government introduced taxes which goes from customers pocket by the end of the day.

As a result, promoting local produce is better for society but boycotting imported goods is not possible either. The government should approve balanced approached by encouraging schemes for local farmers and reducing possible amount of taxes in future. If individuals and government work together they can promote good health which contribute to healthy society.