Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Setting more policies on the streets is seen by some as the most effective way to reduce the crime rates among the country. Although this kind of policy can certainly make streets a safer place for inhabitants, I personally believe that it should not be the optimal and single solution to the problem.

On the one hand, increasing the number of police in streets can allow people to feel more aware of the consequences of crime. This is important because some people go wrong without thinking about the circumstances of being caught. When there have been set more police officers it would prevent them from going wrong in social places and will encourage them to act more deterrently. This practice, in turn, can help people feel much safer and the overall crime rates may decrease.

On the other hand, criminal actions do not occur just on the streets, so that other measures should be taken to decrease the number of crimes. Firstly, the causes of an increase should be questioned by the government. This action might be done by conducting research and observing the connection between social and educational circumstances of people. As a result, they could destroy the wrong perception that all baddies are in prison, and all goodies are outside, because the vast majority of prisoners are from poverty-stricken and the lowest socioeconomic groups, which means they are people who were forced to become victims because of their circumstances. However, it does not mean that there should be excuses for criminals. Anybody who goes wrong and damages another people being deserves to be punished. The point is that governments should reduce the number of people committing crime by educating them how to live, by providing them with social, personal and some academic education. This is because preventing people from crime is far better rather than responding to it.

To conclude, while taking responsibility for the crime rate by having more police is beneficial for people, I argue that it is far better to prevent criminals from doing wrong by researching the causes.