Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

It has been increasingly common to see some states import a significant amount of food from other regions of the world. Although this practice can affect a country’s current economic stability, importing food from other countries normally offers a wide range of benefits, meaning the given trend is mostly positive.

All countries maintain their foreign exchange flow to regulate currency and its status in the world’s economy. In case a country starts importing things too much as opposed to exports, then its currency starts facing issues. As a result, the currency rate starts declining in the national market, and other currencies start holding a dominant position. Take the Persian persimmon as an example. After this product imported in Uzbekistan imported this food, it struggled with keeping its currency priority as Persian money started to increase from 2422.43 rial in 2014 to 2733.76 rial in 2015, the only example of a country that faced the problem with finance. This is why there is a view that importing a massive amount of food from other regions of our planet is detrimental.

Despite the rationale explained above, I believe importing a substantial amount of food is mostly beneficial. The main advantage of this decision is providing people with more nutritional options. For example, Kazakhstan does not have an ecosystem to grow certain products such as oranges, but these foods can be important for people’s diets. Not having such options can result in vitamin deficiency. Using a similar logic, we can also deduce that not importing products from abroad can limit people’s choices for food in general, especially regarding specific products that come from the same regions. The best coffee, for instance, is often exported from countries such as Ethiopia, Columbia, and Brazil, providing people around the world with the best quality product. If there was a ban on the import of coffee from these regions, millions of people would not have access to the superior type of a particular product.

In summary, even though importing huge amounts of food can have an adverse effect on a country’s currency, I believe it is positive as a whole.