Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

In this day and age, many education systems are inclined to force students to hang onto studying certain subjects when they are 15 years old, while others assume that students should burrow into learning many different subjects before leaving school. In my opinion, although learning avalanches of subjects can provide students with a reservoir of knowledge to bode well for their intellect, studying a few subjects will be beneficial for learners in terms of spending more time on other activities they desire.

In terms of learning a wide range of subjects and aiding students to extend their knowledge about divergent fields, those will be two sides to the development of students. To begin with, acquiring many different subjects can help learners be exposed to each facet of each field in a multi-dimensional way. Besides, it also helps them foster their knowledge to serve their imminent future. However, when students just focus on expanding their horizons of knowledge, they will not have enough time to pick up and hone these soft skills that many businesses these days require while applying for a CV. In Vietnam, for instance, the education system just zeros in on the students’ academic performances at school; they do not cultivate the important skills, such as English and computer skills, for the Vietnamese learners to increase their competitive edge when they apply for a job in the multinational company.

On the other hand, learning certain subjects will be advantageous for learners in balancing their studies and life. First, focusing on their favorite subjects will help them acquire in-depth knowledge, which is the determinant for achieving their cherished dreams. Moreover, learners will take the weight off their shoulders in the learning process because they have many breaks to enjoy their interests, such as watching TV or making music. Furthermore, they can set aside time to develop their indispensable skills for their career path, such as English and computer skills, which facilitate overtaking these students who are learning a wealth of subjects to seize the opportunity to work for the popular company.

In conclusion, although the knowledge learned in various classes is purely helpful, I believe that the education system should make students focus on a certain program to create conditions to enjoy their chosen activities.