Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the concern about the social aspect of children’s growth, more practical activities are added to educational curricula besides fixed scientific subjects. Some educationalists believe that playing a musical instrument should be implemented for every kid. I totally agree with this statement for several main reasons.

First of all, teaching kids to play a certain type of musical instrument is an opportunity to unleash their hidden talent. Every kid is born with different capabilities and finding what suits them is rather challenging. So approaching a random musical instrument would be a good idea for kids to know their strengths and weaknesses. Kids who have acquired how to play a musical instrument even move further in their future. For example, a lot of celebrities find out their passion through music such as Barron Cheng, a 3-year-old kid who has performed his piano talent in Opera Orchestra and is a well-known pianist now.

Furthermore, meaningful lessons could be incorporated into songs played by kids. It is undeniable that music is an indispensable part of our life. And adults, especially parents, could use music as a useful tool to convey positive messages to their upbringings. For example, a kid learning to play songs about their mother or father would learn that maternal bond is a sacred value, and then he could appreciate and respect his mom.

In conclusion, every child should be taught to play a certain musical instrument due to numerous benefits, including enabling them to unlock their potential as well as learning valuable social lessons.