Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Acquiring a foreign language is a must in recent time. Thus, almost every school teach it in its lessons. However, there is a discussion among experts, some of them state that it is more beneficial that teaching a new language starts from primary school instead of secondary school. Although this idea helps students to get familiar with a new language sooner, it can lead disorder in learning mother tongue language. In my view, I believe it is better to start teaching it from primary school.

On the one hand, the foreign language acquisition is a tough process and the less age students have the stronger and abler to learn new and difficult things. In the other words, their brains are more ready to acquire second language and they can learn its grammar and rules indirectly. For instance, some schools in Iran are bilingual and teach the new language from first grade of school. As a result, in a short time their students can speak that language like a native.

On the other hand, the pitfalls of this plan should not be overlooked. It is important to not prioritize being professional in mother tongue over learning second language. Some students are not able enough to be taught other language and may lead disorder in process of learning their own language. For example, as I started acquiring new language when I was 8 years old, I always had problem in my first language dictation.

In conclusion, while this notion may not be proper for all students and cause learning disorder, the pace of learning and brain strengthen for learning are wonderful during primary schools. Hence, the positive effects of new language acquisition at primary school outweigh the drawbacks.