Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin to learn a foreign language in primary school than in secondary school. What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Certain experts have debated the best timing to begin learning a foreign language in school. Some contend that introducing a second language class in primary school is too early because learning a language is a tough task. However, this essay will argue that starting a foreign language class in primary school far outweighs its downsides, given children’s brain plasticity.

Students in elementary school might struggle with a second language class because it places high demands on their brains. Processing another language requires different cognitive functions compared to their mother tongue, such as structuring sentences differently. As a result, elementary school students might find the class burdensome and lose interest. For example, in Japan, many elementary school students tend to dislike English classes due to the perceived difficulty.

However, considering children’s brain plasticity, teaching a second language in primary school is ideal. The brain is more adaptable at a young age, making it easier for children to absorb new languages. The earlier children start learning a second language, the faster they can master it.

Moreover, it is scientifically proven that active learning is suitable for young learners. Organizing foreign language classes in a way that involves active participation can make the learning process enjoyable and less strenuous. In the Netherlands, for instance, after the Ministry of Education reformed the class structure to be student-centered, primary school students became more willing to join English classes. Their English proficiency became outstanding compared to other countries where English is a second language.

In conclusion, although learning a second language can be challenging for primary school children, this can be mitigated by using student-centered teaching methods. Given that children’s brains are more adaptable for language learning at a younger age, introducing foreign language classes in primary school is highly beneficial and should be implemented globally.