Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin to learn a foreign language in primary school than in secondary school. What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that children should start foreign language acquisition in primary school instead of the suggested secondary school. In my opinion, this is a double-edged sword, and the potential drawbacks should not be overlooked.

On the one hand, it may offer various benefits to the pupils. Firstly, an early introduction to the academic environment overall can greatly benefit the development of their brains. For example, learning a language in particular can boost the child’s communication, logical thinking, memory, and other sectors of the brain. Secondly, coming across unfamiliar linguistic structures that are completely different from those of their mother tongue can widen their cognitive horizons by showcasing the uniqueness of cultures and their languages — the non-material heritage — worldwide. Finally, and most importantly, it provides our youngsters with the ability and possibility to understand and connect with the rest of the world through cartoons, social media, and other mediators.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of such a decision can possibly erase the advantages mentioned above all at once. Due to the fact that children at that age may not be fully developed mentally and physically, early pressure from parents and peer pressure may impose tremendous stress, which is unnecessary and could have been completely avoided. Consequently, this stress-based low morale may lead to poor academic performance and overall difficulties in daily lives, putting a hard blow to the child’s confidence and self-esteem. This all may eventually turn their childhood, which should have been carefree, into an absolute nightmare and leave unerasable dark patches in their memory.

In conclusion, while there are unlimited benefits to an early introduction of foreign language, I believe its disadvantages still outweigh the advantages.