Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views as to whether cyclists ought to take a test before allowed on public roads to enhance road safety. While this suggestion is valid in some respect, I disagree with this viewpoint.

Proponents of safety tests on cyclists cite various reasons to support their stance. Once cyclists are taken safety tests prior to an allowance to public roads, they can have a better understanding of road rules, such as following a bicycle lane , obeying traffic lights and signals and not moving against traffic. In light of this adequate knowledge, cyclists can be encouraged to take their role in traffic seriously, which can make it easier for them to use safety gears appropriately and understand importance of traffic signals. Supporters of this thought also argue that requiring safety test from cyclists serves as a catalyst for their own safety and insurance. By taking the test, cyclists can not only ensure other passengers safety but also their own insurance. A by-product of these vital knowledge on road rules is a significant reduction of accidents and other traffic situations.

Despite these arguments in favour of test taking on cyclists for safety reasons, in my view, experts in road safety should focus on alternative solutions. Firstly if they require a test for just cycling, it can discourage people from using this healthy and eco- friendly mode of transport. This, in turn, could not only put barriers, especially for children and low- income people due to lack of resources and time to take a test, but also put a severe threat to both environment and people’s health. Furthermore, I think, the cyclists cannot often be the main contributor to accidents compared to other transport modes. Therefore, the experts should consider more about improving the quality of roads and put some strict regulations on driving other vehicles. What I mean is that, when they enhance the road quality , it can be a great solution to address the traffic conditions as it can create and opportunity for drivers to focus only on the process without any disruptions. Taking Germany as an example, the safety levels has improved in a significant extend due to significant improvements on roads.

In conclusion, although taking tests from cyclists can be good way to alleviate traffic conditions, I firmly believe that taking alternatively measurements can be in much greater importance.