Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether a driving test should become compulsory for cyclists before commuting on public roads. I subscribe to the idea that it is an effective measure in improving road safety.

First and foremost, a driving test brings a massive boon for cyclists’ traffic knowledge. To explain, taking the test will help them better understand regulations and signs, and road priority. In 2019, the US report indicated that 65% of cyclists lack knowledge and understanding of traffic laws, which is the main cause of bicycle accidents. Through the test, cyclists consequently can master traffic laws to ensure their safety and those around them. By contrast, the lack of knowledge about traffic laws can cause bicycle drivers to violate traffic laws, which can result in warnings or fines and also affect other road users.

In addition, taking a driver’s license test can help cyclists receive training and driving skills assessment. Although bicycles are simple vehicles, there are still necessary basic skills to control like observing, solving problems, driving in the right lane, avoiding road collisions and handling unexpected situations such as avoiding obstacles, overcoming difficult roads, or riding in bad weather conditions. According to a study in Vietnam in 2020, 56% of cyclist-related accidents stem from the absence of bicycle control skills when encountering unexpected situations. Therefore, through the process of studying and taking the license exam, cyclists can be more confident when participating in driving traffic and the risk of accidents can be reduced.

In conclusion, transport rules learning and examination must be mandatory for cyclists for safety. I tend to agree with the experts to test before riding a bicycle on the public street, so the individual will not disrupt other travellers and maintain a safe environment. Therefore, the bicycle test should merit further attention from both governments and individuals.