Some experts say that for road safety, cyclists should pass a test before going on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Driving licenses nowadays are essential for driver safety. There is an opinion that cyclists have to pass a qualification test before legally using their bike on public roads. This essay will examine why I moderately agree with this statement.

On the one hand, approval through a qualification test can guarantee the safety for drivers on public roads. Because when cyclists pass that test, they might have a qualified card or ID which proves that those cyclists have enough skills and experiences to travel on the road safely. For example, when a man who has qualified through those tests, he will understand the safety of himself and other drivers and also know how to avoid and deal with unexpected scenarios that happen on the road. So the safeness of drivers who travel on the road will be guaranteed.

On the other hand, it will cause a big problem for students who are still in the secondary schools or high school to pass this type of test. The teenagers who are only in the ages of 15-18 do not have enough experiences and skills to pass. For example, there are numerous students in Vietnam who depend on the bike to go to school. So if they cannot qualify through this test they will properly not be allowed to drive their bikes to school. As a result, it might affect their health when some students have to drive a long distance from their home to school.

In conclusion, the idea of creating a test for cyclists is brilliant because the test will sort people who do not have enough abilities to drive safely on the road. However, some kids might be affected by these tests. I believe that the government should find other ways which are the most optimal solution for this problem.