Some feel that movies and tv shows are a good way to study history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals believe that one of the best ways to learn history is through movies and TV shows despite occasional historical inaccuracies. To a large extent, I agree with this view for the following reasons.

One crucial reason is that this way of studying can help many people, especially youngsters, understand history more easily. Undeniably, compared to just reading a dense history book, watching a TV series about history would be more interesting and enjoyable. This is mainly because information presented through sounds and images can be easily absorbed, while traditional ways such as reading books or visiting history museums do not really interest many people. Take World War II, for example; there are numerous films and shows about it and most of them are highly rated about the content. This example shows that history is a great source for many directors and filmmakers, as most individuals love to study history through movies and shows. Therefore, I suppose filmmakers should be encouraged to produce more history movies.

On the other hand, some movies may present some false historical events. This can be the result from the lack of researching of film-making groups. In addition, some people try to change the historical events in order to promote their nations. However, I think these situations just happen once in a blue moon and it will be soon criticized by the audience and professors.

In conclusion, although some TV shows and movies truly sometimes lack of historical accuracy. I still believe this cannot strongly affect the audience. Therefore, in my opinion, TV shows and movies benefit a lot for people interested in studying history.