Some governments provide financial assistance for retired, unemployed and disabled citizens. In other countries, families provide support for these people. Discuss both systems and give your opinion about which one you think is better.

Providing financial assistance for retired, unemployed, and disabled citizens by the government ultimately relieved the burden on these people due to their lack of financial capacity. On the other hand, in some countries, it is the family that provides support for these people. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and why I prefer for the government to provide financial assistance for these people instead of the family doing so.

In the first system, as people retire, become unemployed, or get disabled, they can resort to government financial assistance in order to cover their daily expenses. This kind of help is totally beneficial, especially for families that don’t have enough financial capacity. However, in this kind of system, the money usually comes from the taxes of the citizens. For example, in Germany, which has a huge bracket in taxes, people don’t have to worry about covering their basic needs as the government already subsidizes them.

In the second system, it is the families that provide support for these people instead. This creates a huge burden, especially for poor families. Sometimes it can lead to broken families or fights within the family.

In my view, I totally prefer for the government to provide support for these people instead of the family doing so. This way, the family can focus on living their lives instead of worrying about other family members’ expenses

In summary, having the support of the government usually eases the burden for retired, unemployed, and disabled citizens instead of asking a family member for financial support. I believe this kind of government is what we all wish for.