Some hold the view that ideas and information should be completely open and there should be no controls on what people can read and watch in the media. (TV, newspapers, Internet) Do you agree with this view or do you think that in some circumstances governments should limit the freedom of the media?

These days, the media is a primary source of data. But does all information on the media need to be completely open? A growing number of people believe that information should be censored and defined as restricted access. I disagree with this statement, and in this essay, I will support my view with relevant examples.

Firstly, I firmly believe that Censorship can create a Digital divide between people as some people with Unrestricted access to information know everything and make decisions better for their lives, on the other hand, fake news has less impact on people, for example, 4 months ago there is some news about the fight in Tehran, every day my mother called me some people told her Tehran under the fight however there isn’t anything like the fight in my place, some people with fake news can impact on my mother and make concern for her.

Secondly, From my perspective, Everyone should decide for themselves what to watch and what not to watch. Controlling people not only makes them uncomfortable with the government and the media but also makes people distrust the government and the media. For instance, the government filtered some social media in Iran, this control made people use VPN all the time, following this they can see everything and also distrust to government