Some hold the view that ideas and information should be completely open and there should be no controls on what people can read and watch in the media. (TV, newspapers, Internet) Do you agree with this view or do you think that in some circumstances governments should limit the freedom of the media?

In this contemporary world, news and media are the principal means of communication for daily information. There is a going debate whether people should have entire access to the media and gain unlimited control in there. Personally, I completely disagree because without limitation it is extremely risky and governments ought to gain control under particular circumstances.

To begin with, there are two main reasons why accessing the media without restriction is incredibly dangerous to individuals. First of all, with the success of the 4th industrial revolution, multimedia has become the main means of human communication. As a result, people need to use the media in order to stay informed, and the longer they are exposed to it, the more they are affected by the information there. And this makes news and media one of the principal factors that shape society’s thoughts and perspective. That is highly hazardous and harmful if the news are negative or fake, giving rise to the fact that when the major gains free access, they can be easily misled.

Furthermore, false information is widespread which leads to cybercrimes, in particular online fraud. Without proper assessments from governments, fraudulent information can easily sneak in worldwide data, so that cybercrimes are inevitable. For example, in Vietnam, online scams are on the rise, statistics from the Authority of Information Security revealed that in the first six months of 2025, online fraud in Vietnam increased by 64.78% over the same period last year and 37.82% compared to the last six months of 2024. To tackle this rising problem, the authority should get it under control by implementing policies for accessing the media, this including stricter management and severe penalties on individuals convicted of cyber fraud.

To wrap up, the media is relatively a multidimensional industry, needing conscious decisions from everybody. Therefore, everyone ought to raise their guards when having access to the media.