Some observers say that police officers should be recruited from the communities where they work, so that they have local knowledge. Other people say that this is unnecessary, or even undesirable. Where do you stand on this debate? Is local knowledge essential in modern policing?

This essay discusses the highly discussed issue in modern society, wherever police officers should originate from the district in which they work or not. Furthermore, I will contribute my personal opinion on this dispute.

There are people who argue that the benefit of knowing the community policing in considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason to believe so is that this could lead to a more efficient way of fulfilling the police duty. It is also possible to say that the citizen might rely more on people they trust. One suitable illustration of this is that burghers would rather aske someone the already know out of everyday live instead of a stranger. A second point is that the officer has deeply knowledge over the community he is protecting. A particularly good example here is that the policemen know relationships between the pople supervising and can therefore solve a case more quickly.

On the other hand, some believe that having police officers who are known in the district could be unprofessional. Although it is often argued that this is due to the fact that there are social relations between the citizen and the responsible police man. Even tough people having this opinion because an officer is in favor of prefer some burghers among the others. This could be a consequence because some supervised citizens are friends of the officer.

In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that the advantages of having a police officer who works in his own district is more valuable than one who does not. This is because of his special knowledge and acceptance in the population.