Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that, nowadays, some approaches in advertising are both unethical and inappropriate. I absolutely agree with this statement because of the two main reasons.

Today many companies widely use user’s personal data without their consent to promote their own product. This results in violating privacy and ethical campaigns, which harms people’s sense of credibility in marketing. Still, numerous companies use so-called cookies to analyze people’s preference, in turn, suggest products they are in demand. Even though it may seem as a best way of promotion of goods it can have a negative effect on society. For example, the more you see something trending, the more you will want to buy it; this can lead to waste of money and the product itself, if the product is not worth it.

In addition, many advertising strategies reinforce gender stereotypes, unrealistic beauty standards, and materialistic values, causing long-term social harm and harmful stereotypes. Gender stereotypes, the most popular topic in the market, offend endless women all over the world and violate equity. Moreover, women individuals, watching tons of advertisements on beauty standards, believe in unrealistic goods; after buying it, they expect to be a fashion model, but, in reality, it harms their skin, resulting in more expenses to cure it. The last, but not least, is materialistic values, which force people to believe that they are not enough: happiness and wealth are possessed primarily by physical value.

In conclusion, advertising methods employed by certain companies can be deemed as inappropriate.