Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

Nowadays the question of death penalty acceptance is widely discussed. On the one hand, the advocates of that type of punishment think that the fear of death will restrain citizens from committing crimes. On the other hand, it violates basic human rights. Both opinions are valid, and in this essay I will examine the reasons for these views.

At first, people think that the death penalty constrains the scale of violent crimes, such as murder, violence, and terrorism. Citizens make the connection between fear of death and the punishment. Then, they suggest that criminals will not choose an offense due to the law, so the amount of crimes will decrease. Moreover, the families of the victims will get justice. A lot of people are of the opinion that revenge for serious crimes is fair, and they want to punish crimes by the rule “eye for an eye.”

But the death penalty unexpectedly has more earnest disadvantages. There are various researches about the influence of the death penalty on crimes in diverse countries of different decades. And all of them came to the same conclusion about the uselessness of that punishment. These studies showed that death does not provide the decrease of crimes but, moreover, sometimes promotes their influence. Another quite serious disadvantage of the death penalty, which not all people will support, is violating basic human rights. All around the world people accepted these rights, so it is essential to protect the right to living, even if it is a criminal.

In conclusion, I want to say that I do not appreciate the death penalty, because it does not have a positive effect on crime statistics and, furthermore, does not follow the widely accepted human rights. People should look after the reasons for crimes rather than their consequences.