Some people argue that it is not wise for an industry to replace its experienced but old workers with new and young yet inexperienced individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The job market has always been saturated with both old and young workers. Following the same cycle of getting employed, gaining experience, retiring, and then getting replaced by a fresh graduate. Almost all industries follow the same structure in different measures.

Those who disagree with the point believe that the aging population in the workforce doesn’t differ significantly in terms of productivity and creativity. To begin with, young workers can offer fresh perspective and new innovative ideas that could lead to new developed methods and procedures. Additionally, having a young workforce is considered a cost-effective solution due to the lower wages typically received by fresh graduates. Unlike the older generation, the young generation of workers is more equipped to the technological advancement and industry shifts, making them excellent candidates in this current era of dealing with artificial intelligence.

The statement that only hiring new and inexperienced individuals would result in a chaotic working conditions. Experienced employees are able to brings a unique set of work qualities to the workplace, characterized by high knowledge, skills, and expertise that contribute to increase productivity and overall performance. Furthermore, senior workers provide stability and reliability to the workplace, ensuring consistent production of high quality work over the years. Besides, elder staff can be promoted as a mentor or a trainer to younger colleagues to help them evolve into a perfect employee. Also, the young generation of workers tend to favor job hopping whereas the older generation of workers prefer to stay committed and loyal to one company.

To conclude with, a balanced work place with both new and old employees exhibit a healthy working environment. There should be a mutual effort to help to share knowledge and skills between the two. However, the decision on whether to keep or replace experienced workers may appear biased. Nonetheless, periodically replacing retiring employees with fresh graduates, thus avoiding any single entity from dominating the job market, represents the safest approach to satisfy both parties involved.