Some people argue that primary schools focus too much on formal learning. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? How important do you think it is for children to play as well as learn in the primary school classroom?

Some are of the opinion that primary school pupils are constricted to a formal method of learning and have little room for anything else while in school. I believe that this is true. I also believe that while it is important for children to learn their arithmethics and other science and civil subjects, it is of great importance to give room for play and fun in the classroom.

In most primary schools, children are expected to be at their desks, sitted in an orderly fashion and quiet while they learn their subjects. While this part is important as it drills in discipline and orderliness into these young ones. It is also important to introduce playtime as a session in their daily school routine. This allows children be children- by exploring their environment while interacting with other children, they develop their own individual personalities and understand theirselves better.

Also, most primary schools only allow what they consider serious subjects in their curriculum, little children can find school boring because of this. For example, in some primary schools in Nigeria, students only study Mathematics, English, Civics and Sciences. There is little room for subjects like arts and music in their curriculum, or when these are present only the theoretical part is focused on. This does not allow children have fun, explore other interests or let them think outside the box. Allowing subjects like arts and music where students can learn and play at the same time makes them understand that school can both be serious and jovial.

In conclusion, while it is important for children to have parts of their schooling be orderly so they can learn discipline, it is also very important to let children play and have fun so that they can explore their sorroundings, develop their sense of self and know that learning can be both serious and interesting.