Some people argue that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To learn deeper about the world around us and to find solutions to global problems are of paramount importance to the future of human beings. In this regard, there is a concern that scientific research should be monitored by the government rather than private companies themselves. I fully support this view. I believe that such research should only serve the nation’s good, addressing global problems, making breakthroughs and inventions, thus contributing to the well-being of people. While some proportion of research is funded by private companies, there should be intervention of responsible authorities. Otherwise, private companies may fulfill their own interests, inventing anything dangerous and harmful.

Many private bodies carry out researches around the world. In the field of medicine, numerous successful insights have been taken. Companies employ researchers, scientists and assistants to make medicine that can cure illnesses once thought to be impossible. For example, those researchers test their medicine on animals to analyze whether their invented products work safely when applied to people. If we take another example, private companies are doing their best in space travel. Nowadays, a huge company called SpaceX led by its founder Elon Musk is achieving outstanding results, pushing the limits of current physics. This company, with ambitious targets on its mind, can help people to explore space and may even colonize other planets when Earth’s resources are scarce.

Despite these benefits, relying on private companies only in terms of research without any control by the government can be detrimental. Since private companies are self-oriented, they may fail to ensure the safety of the public. Take the outbreak of Corona virus 2019, according to some data, the reason of this outbreak is mainly due to some companies carrying out research individually in the field of medicine. To illustrate, there was an accident and the virus managed to escape outside. However, the consequence was hazardous, taking its toll on thousands of people, creating an epidemic, thus negatively impacting the overall economy. Therefore, I think that governments should interfere when there are potential threats to human beings.

In conclusion, while findings by private companies are essential and can help people’s overall well-being, I strongly disagree that private companies should be doing research freely. I think that there should be some intervention by governments, banning individual research in certain fields if this could bring about problems.