Some people believe that a college or University education should be available to all students other believe that high education should be available only to good students. Discuss this views. Which you do you agree with? explain why?

Since time immemorial, some men have thought differently, accepted challenges to solve a problem or taken a different course of action and have come up with great inventions or novel discoveries as a result. Broadly speaking, there are two types of people: first – those who prefer to take risks and try and build new things; and second – those who do what they do best and are content with the regular results. I prefer the first type of people and always aspire to learn new things and take on challenges.

In today’s world, where there is an ocean of information available at our fingertips, remaining the same and doing the same things is pretty mundane and a matter of setback. Through technology, we are exposed to different cultures and global events. This motivates me to feed my hunger to know and learn more, to visit places that are daring and daunting to many, and take up challenges to solve problems. The Internet is also a great medium for learning and gaining skills and finding out our true potential. For instance, I was doing well in an investment bank but was always intrigued by the payments industry specifically the digital wallet space. I took a risk a year back and changed my career path in the Digital wallet industry. I am learning new things every day and enjoying my work to the fullest.

To look at it from a different perspective, without taking the risk, we would not know what is lying beyond. There can be a rainbow of possibilities which might open up only if we take the first step forward. This does not mean that you would be successful on your first attempt and thus demands consistent pursuit. To supplement this with an example, a friend of mine was stagnant in his career and was unhappy with his monotonous job. With the advice of friends he took risks and ventured into a new business. He realised that he was doing very good and took the business as a full-time career. Thus, according to me trying new things and taking calculated risks is always beneficial.

To conclude, I believe that we are in this world to create and transform things from their present state to make the world a better place. While trying new things sharpens our creativity, it teaches us new skills as well. I prefer a life full of challenges, possibilities and excitement to having a banal and monotonous life.