Some people believe that advertising encourages us to buy things we do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is thought that advertising persuades us to buy things we are not required to. It is argued that advertisements raise our awareness about new products that might improve our lives. While both views are sensible to an extent, I maintain that adverts are useless, as they do nothing but urge us to buy things we do not really need.

On the one hand, advertisements are extremely useful, as without them we can simply be unaware of products that can possibly enhance our lives. A case in point is vaccines or health supplements, which are usually advertised via social media in order to raise awareness of them among individuals. Although this may look like a waste of time, in pandemics, such as Covid-19, the awareness of vaccines is a vital factor to survival. Therefore, some believe that adverts are crucial when it comes to diseases that pose an existential threat.

Nevertheless, some people, including myself, dispute that adverts have anything useful, because a vast majority of them are created solely to make a profit by persuading individuals to buy useless merchandise. Take the iPhone as an example; if a new model of iPhone is created, a large number of iPhone users tend to buy it although their current phones work perfectly. Accordingly, they urge us to spend money on products that we are not required to.

In conclusion, although advertisements are extremely important to some extent, mostly they are useless, and even worse, they usually harm our budget by encouraging us to make impulsive choices.