Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and uses up the world's fuel resources.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that imposing limitations on air travel is necessary to mitigate environmental pollution and reduce global consumption of fuel resources. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this notion for some reasons.

The first reason lies in the vital importance of the tourism sector to national economic development. This can be explained by the fact that many countries consider tourism as their backbone to facilitate economic development. To illustrate, Thailand is well-known as one of Asia’s famous tourist attractions, which attracts millions of foreign tourists each year owing to its reputation for divine temples. To fulfill tourists’ growing demands, emphasizing/ prioritizing hospitability services, including restaurants, hotels, and entertainment activities, is understandable. Therefore, if large-scale air travel restrictions were enforced, investors had no choice but to suffer from/ experience/ undergo bankruptcy, ultimately leading to financial debt and an increase in unemployment. All of which might put heavy constraints on governments to deal with financial crises and substantial growth in social devils.

Another reason would be the possibility of worsening environmental contamination and excessively consuming of fuel triggered by other means of transport. To be more specific, individuals have no alternatives but to transfer to use trains, boats, or ships which are less efficient in terms of time. Due to long-haul travelling, these means of transports require substantial amount of petrol and oil to operate, ultimately releasing more carbon dioxide than that of airplanes. Besides, when commuting for hours, people’s food and drinks may end up littered on the road or sea, thus resulting in extreme pollution. As a result, it is clear that using alternative transports to alleviate pollution and and reduce fuel consumption is completely counter-productive.

In conclusion, I oppose the introduction of restrictions on traveling by plane since it can negatively affect the economy in tourism countries and exacerbate pollution and fuel shortage.