some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the city, while others disagree. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views and give your opinion

People have opposing views on bicycles as a mode of transportation in the cities; some prefer them, while others do not. Cycling is environmentally friendly and offers health benefits, but its efficiency is affected by the weather, and it has a limited range and capacity.

Bicycles are beneficial for the environment. This is because it has zero emissions to the atmosphere and also has no air or noise pollution. For instance, you don’t use fuel when cycling therefore there isn’t any carbon dioxide emissions thus the air quality is good. Physical and mental wellbeing is also an advantage of riding the bicycle. It helps improve your cardiac health, it burns calories and strengthens muscles. To illustrate, taking a ride on a bicycle in a park or forest helps your mental health because you become relaxed and it’s a fun activity. Therefore, this mode of transportation allows you to maintain fitness as you conserve our environment.

On the other hand, cyclists are limited by the weather because it can put them at risk. In the rainy weather or during the snow season, the roads are very slippery and a 2 wheeled bicycle can easily loose balance and harm the cyclist by falling and either getting bone fractures or soft tissue injuries. A good illustration of this is during rainy seasons, the cyclist is not shielded during a downpour therefore they can easily contract respiratory issues because of being rained on. In addition, cyclists are also limited on how far the bicycle can go and the load it can carry. Long distance travel is not practical when cycling, it’s more practical on short trips and also one cannot be able to carry large or multiple items because of lack of storage space. For example, an automobile trip of 2 hours might roughly take a bicycle 3hours plus the rider will be fatigued because of the exertion. Hence, bicycles have their limitations over long distances and adverse weather conditions can complicate cycling.

In conclusion, riding a bicycle is ecologically safe because it doesn’t emit harmful gases and it improves your physical and mental health. On the contrast, it is challenging to do it for long distance trips and in some weather conditions.