Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. Others believe that it could be used for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is one of the vigorously discussed topics in many countries. While governments are trying to address this issue, a segment of society is convinced that heinous criminals should have death penalties. Others, however, believe the opposite. I personally support the former view, because a threat of capital punishment can deter potential murderers from committing crimes. The following paragraphs will discuss both opinions and explain my support of capital punishment.

To commence, death penalties can effectively tackle the issue of serious crimes, because they can instil fear of being executed and deter criminals from heinous crimes. Take, for example, Dubai. Over the last years, after the introduction of capital punishment, the rate of serious crimes has dramatically decreased. Moreover, individuals sentenced for lifelong imprisonment are burdens on the government budget. Thus, the death penalty is cost-effective for the economy. Governments should rather spend these funds addressing more pressing social issues like education and healthcare.

Despite the above argument, some people think that executing is equal to killing someone. Additionally, they believe that these criminals should rather be re-educated and re-socialized. Nonetheless, according to studies, predominant murderers or rapists have a big potential to re-offend once they are released from prisons. For instance, some people are psychologically inclined to cruelty towards others. Therefore, in order to protect the community from dangerous individuals, governments should introduce capital punishments.

To conclude, I opine that capital punishment is effective and should be introduced. It may help to prevent many violent crimes in the long run.