Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. Others believe that it could be used for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that capital punishment hould not be used or it should be. While some people believe that cipital punishments shouldn’t be used in all crimes, I am of the opinion that it must be allowed for the most serious offenses that require immediate action to prevent further harm. This essay will discuss both perspectives and explain why I strongly support the use of this punishment.

The primary reason why I advocate for this view is that capital punishment acts as a strong deterrent to violent crimes. Many criminals commit serious offenses because they believe the consequences will not be severe. For example, statistics show that 60% of repeat offenders are responsible for more than 1,500 murders every year. A clear case is Raymond Reddington, a fictional character who committed multiple murders and ran a global criminal empire. Although extreme, this case reflects how dangerous individuals can exploit lenient punishments.

On the other hand, it is understandable why some individuals believe that even criminals deserve a second chance. They argue that people can change during imprisonment, as in the case of James Wilson, who transformed from a notorious criminal into a productive member of society. While this argument has some merit, it fails to consider that many offenders seek revenge after being released, continuing to kill, steal, or kidnap. Therefore, this counterpoint does not outweigh the overall benefit of enforcing capital punishment in specific cases.

In conclusion, although there are arguments on both sides, I remain firmly convinced that capital punishment should be applied for the most serious crimes. As such, governments must ensure it is used fairly, but decisively, to protect society.