Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes.

Some people argue that the death penalty should never be exercised, while others argue to the contrary, that capital punishment should be allowed for heinous crimes. This essay will discuss both views and give my personal opinion.

The issue of capital punishment has been a topic of discussion among governments, civil society organizations, and human rights advocates. The first view argues against the death penalty. This argument is from the perspective of humanity and human rights protection; every individual, whether criminal or not, has the right to live, which is protected through different human rights instruments. Some of these instruments are applied and protected universally. Countries are duty-bound to respect and ensure the application of these universal laws. While the death penalty can ensure a deterrent effect for would-be criminals, it can also be inappropriately used against certain individuals or groups. Since the discretion of imposing such a penalty is up to the judicial system, it can sometimes be harsh and lead to subjectivity. For example, when the judicial system is corrupt, innocent lives can be killed.

On the other hand, some people argue in favor of capital punishment as it has a deterrent effect on would-be criminals. Most of the time, new criminals emerge as a result of a weak judicial system that is unable to pass strong punishments that can lead to deterrence. When the punishment is not strong enough compared to the crimes that are committed, it ceases to educate others. Moreover, the death penalty can be used as retribution for victims of such heinous crimes. There are times when heinous crimes are committed, such as genocide, gang rape, and mass killing, where the public at large advocates for justice and asks for capital punishment. In such cases, the death penalty seems appropriate.

As an advocate for human rights protection, I am against capital punishment. I believe that everyone can learn from their mistakes and wrongdoings. However, once the death penalty takes place, there is no way to alter it or to use it as a way to educate others.

In conclusion, there are two opposite arguments related to the death penalty. While proponents of the death penalty argue that it can be used for deterrence and as retribution for victims, the opponents of the death penalty argue that it is against human rights protection and humanity. As an advocate for human rights, I am against capital punishment for the reasons of human rights protection and humanity principles.