Some people believe that children of all ages should have extra responsibilities (for example, helping at home or at work). Others believe that, outside of school, children should be free to enjoy their lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While children, in some people’s belief, should be allowed to do whatever they want after school, many individuals are of the opinion that children are responsible for housework besides studying at school. This essay will elaborate on these two points of view and shed light on why I am in favor of the former one.

Doing household chores is important for children because it plays a crucial role in their future lives when becoming an adult. As children grow up, they have to live on their own, thereby needing household skills to take care of themselves. Not only does helping their families with housework enhance children’s sense of independence but it also improves their physical health and mitigates their parents’ burden.

Letting children freely enjoy their time after school stimulates their personal growth. While they are restricted to theoretical subjects at school, the outside world is an optimal environment for children to explore other various aspects that align with their interests and talents, such as sports and arts. Since they are at the ideal age that can absorb knowledge quickly, making the most of their free time to engage in these activities fosters their special abilities, as well as provides them with a broader perspective on life.

In my view, permitting children to proactively enjoy their childhood is far more essential. However helpful responsibilities at home are, they do not bring to children such a lot of skills as social experience does. Dealing with real-life situations by themselves, by contrast, affords kids opportunities to learn numerous soft skills that are indeed valuable in both their career paths and social life in the future.

In conclusion, while doing housework is necessary for building children’s self-reliance, freedom must be a vital element in children’s life maturing process. Such punctual but suitably restricted by parents should be made to give their children a fully-developed life.