Some people believe that children should do what their parents tell them to do; others think children must learn to think for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Many people hold the belief that children should listen to what their parents tell them to do. Others, however, contend that is is imperative for them to think on their owns. Both sides are justifiable; however, I personally lean toward the latter.

On the one hand, being obedient can bring children several benefits. Firstly, they can avoid confronting challenges, thereby reducing the likelihood of being negatively affected by several external factors. For example, a large number of parents are discouraging their minors to play sports, as they believe that these activities are strongly associated with severe injuries. As kids are told that they are highly vulnerable individuals, they can avoid engaging in those intensive sports activities by listening to their parents, thereby lessening the possibility of being injured. This is the main reason why a large number of people support this viewpoint.

Nevertheless, the idea that children should be responsible for thinking and making choices themselves may result in various significant advantages. This method of raising younger generations allow them to deal with problems. Hence, they can learn meaningful experience from making mistakes and consider the pros and cons scrupulously being making a final decision. As a result, this approach mitigates children’s reliance on other people, which fosters independence and reinforces maturity. These qualities are vitally important for them when persuing professional careers, as they are considered as necessary soft skills in this highly competitve job market.

In conclusion, although the short-term effects of being obedient as a kid can bring considerable implications, I strongly believe that the positive outcomes on self-autonomy and problems management of allowing children to learn from mistakes far outweigh the drawbacks.