Some people believe that children should do what their parents tell them to do; others think children must learn to think for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While one school of thought holds that doing what parents tell is necessary for children, others maintain we should leave them deciding by themselves. This essay will examine both viewpoints, before concluding that I agree with the latter.

Some individuals argue that children following their parents’ instructions can reduce some potential misbehavior. According to the reasoning, the youth with their high curiosity can spiral out of control and be spoiled by mimicking and imitating unexpected behavior. Nevertheless, this line of thinking overlooks the fact that unless we provide them opportunities to wilfully experience what they want, not only will it make them more inquisitive but also create rebellion in them. Therefore, this could worsen the parent-child relationship in the long run, and those parents might have their child become uncontrollable more quickly. For example, one research gives information that about 80 percent of teenagers growing up with restrictions show more enmity to their parents, just approximately 5 percent lower than those who abandon due to divorces and relevant issues.

In addition, the youth can also actively have a sense of morality by realistic experiences. For instance, if children have the privilege to make their own decisions freely, they often then realize what is the right and wrong one. As a consequence, this allows the natural creation of independence in children’ s personalities without any strict enforcement.

In conclusion, while there are valid arguments for children to obey their parents, I maintain that people should be encouraged to think critically and independently.