Some people believe that children should study all subjects at school, while others think they should only study subjects they are good at or find interesting. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some claim that all subjects at school should be seriously taken into consideration so that their children can gain comprehensive knowledge, while others argue for optional rights to choose whatever they find suitable or intriguing. While studying a wide range of subjects including natural and social ones, offers certain benefits, I believe that actively selecting what to learn at school can enhance children’s potential to the next level.

On the one hand, comprehensive knowledge plays an essential role in daily life, and making some particular subjects compulsory can help children maintain their basic cognition and perception, for instance, mathematics may contribute to building critical and logical thinking. In some countries including Vietnam, history is also a compulsory subject, to have children raise their awareness of their origins. In addition, the curriculum arrangement when students have to study the same subjects as others has allowed the schools to distribute students into classes with greater ease.

On the other hand, I assume that children should be encouraged to select what they want to learn or find interesting, as they can have difficulty absorbing overloaded knowledge. Certain people show their potential in specific aspects quite early, for example, their artistic talent in music since childhood, so concentrating on related subjects may allow them to grow and improve more efficiently, rather than spending too much time on what they are not skillful at. Going along with time-saving is the benefit of advanced education at schools when highly qualified teachers of each subject can be assigned to their appropriate classes, assisting students in acquiring more knowledge and developing necessary skills. This allows for a more efficient use of classroom time, as teachers can focus on their areas of expertise and provide students with in-depth instruction.

In conclusion, while it is essential to some extent for children to study all subjects at school, they should be permitted to follow their education path by choosing what to learn. Certainly, the significant roles of families, friends, and teachers in helping students’ selections are undeniable, including offering an overview, guide, and experience for their perspectives.