Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People seem to be either excited or worried about the future impact of artificial

intelligence. Personally I can understand the two opposing points of view; I am

both fascinated by developments in artificial intelligence and apprehensive about

its possible negative effects.

On the one hand, the increasing intelligence of technology should bring some

obvious benefits. Machines are clearly able to do many jobs better than humans

can, especially in areas that require high levels of accuracy or calculations using

large amounts of data. For example, robots are being developed that can carry out

surgical procedures with greater precision than a human doctor, and we already

have cars that use sensors and cameras to drive themselves. Such technologies can

improve safety by reducing the likelihood of human errors. It is easy to imagine

how these developments, and many others, will steadily improve our quality of

life.

On the other hand, I share the concerns of people who believe that artificial

intelligence may harm us if we are not careful. In the short term, it is likely that we

will see a rise in unemployment as workers in various industries are replaced by

machines or software programs. For example, self-driving vehicles are expected to

cause redundancies in driving jobs, such as lorry drivers, taxi drivers and busdrivers. In the medium term, if intelligent technologies gradually take jobs away

from humans, we may find that people become deskilled and lose their sense of

purpose in life. A longer term fear is that computers become so intelligent that they

begin to make decisions without human oversight and without regard for our wellbeing.

In conclusion, while intelligent machines will no doubt improve our lives in many

ways, the potential risks of such technologies should not be ignored.