Some people believe that good teamwork is what makes companies successful. Others feel that it is more important to have a good leader. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people feel it is good teamwork that makes a company a success, while others claim that good leadership is more important. Although people can be more productive when they work cooperatively, I agree with the latter view because good leaders are the ones who set the goals that everybody in the company is pushing towards.

On the one hand, it can be argued that good teamwork improves productivity. When different talents work together, one only needs to work on what one is good at. This allows a team to solve a problem or create a new product faster than companies where there is a lack of cooperation among employees. However, I think without good leaders to set big-picture goals, employees will not know what they are trying to achieve in the long run. Then, what is the point of chasing productivity?

On the other hand, great leaders set goals for their team and make sure everybody in the team knows what they should do to accomplish those goals. Take for example Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos. If he had not envisioned the bright future of two-day shipping, no one in the company would have put so much effort into building the world’s most advanced warehouse infrastructure and even their own delivery network. I agree with this opinion because having a clear goal drives a company and its employees forward.

In conclusion, despite the high productivity that good teamwork can bring, I believe to succeed in the business world, a company needs a great leader to set targets for its employees to fight for.