Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Although some people justify that governments should intercept citizens” phone comunication without consent because they think that it is a safety matter, and the wellbeing of population outweight the individual one, I am afraid that I would have to disagree with that perspective because as others have stated, phone records personal information, and keeping the privacy on this data is a right that every body living in a free country is entitle of.

Taking into account that safety is crucial for a persona to thrive, it is understandable that some people can preserve ithis over other factors, even if this implies violating the citizen’s right of preserving total control over thier personal information, as they would argue that criminals can use this communication means as a shield to elaborate and coordinate their illegal plans without being tracked, However, I consider that the drawbacks of stalking people’s conversations without advise outweigh the benefits because it makes people feel even more unsafe and paranoide for getting their life expose to strangers. For example, honest citizen could be embarrased after knowing that unknown people heard a romantic conversation of him and his wife. At the end of the day, most of the phone call are not related to criminality.

On the other hand, most of democracy and freedom-based societies have agreed that individuals are owner of their personal infomation and nobody should be allowed to break in their personal spaces which include what they willingly share with their chosen people in a private conversations by phone. Therefore, if goverment have to intercept any citizen phone, that person should be notified unless there is a justified legal process running againgst of them or any other proof than this violation to their right serves a higher propose in benefit of the community good. For instant, when a convicted criminal is running away from the police.

To conclude, although safety is a high-priority factor for comunity to thrive. the right of privacy is a fundamental right which should be preserve as much as possible, because a disruption of people’s private space could be more detrimental than beneficial since it could make them feel observed and dangered. Giving that, in most of cases, governments should not access its citizen phone call records without their consent unless it is necessary for the common wellness.