Some people believe that governments should invest more in public transportation instead of building new roads for cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that the authorities should improve public transportation more than making new roads. As far as I am concerned, this will be better for the public good; however, I strongly disagree with this opinion because enormous countries need to build networks of roads to fully connect, and this will impact countries’ economic activities.

It is crucial to access remote areas for big countries; to achieve this, building a network of roads is essential. The government has to do this not only to rule the countryside but also to give some public services. For instance, subways or buses might not help a pregnant mother who lives in a village, while open roads for the hospitals are much more helpful to her. Aside from social possibilities that are achieved by roads, locals must feel the authority in remote zones to not commit crimes.

Another reason why it is a better option to connect the country with roads is potential economic growth. The rising connectivity will build more job opportunities on the side of the roads. Highly skilled workers might choose workplaces that are far away from their homes and easily commute by road. And some new restaurants, malls, and other places probably will be built to serve these highly skilled workers. The other sector that affects building new roads is tourism. Because tourists want to visit places that have decent roads. For example, Machu Picchu is located above sea level, and it is hard to visit there, so the authorities built a road for touristic reasons.

To sum up, I firmly believe governments should invest in roads for people who live in remote areas, because they are human beings after all, and this will also serve for countries’ economies.