Some people believe that harsher punishments reduce crime. Others argue that education and social reform are more effective solutions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people believe that punishing stirctly is the only key in the way of reducing rates of crime, while others argue that social and and educational reforms are more essential. In this essay both sides of views will be discussed and the personal opinion will be given by me.

To begin with, the reason why people think harsh punishment is better for society is that the rate of crimes are common in urban areas. Many individuals consider that strict penalties can supply society with the peace and awarness, serving as a deterrant. As an example, Many Islamic countries use death penalty in the justice system to discourage people not to do the crime again.

On the other hand, critics think that the government should reform the crimes socially and the education is more effective. For instance learning offenders thoroughly might save many innocent criminals from execution. In Finland, for example, the government campaigns vocational training, rehalibition to make social responsibilty in offenders.

From the point of my view, both ways are required to build a peaceful and safe community for citizens. For the several crimes such as terrorism, murder and sexual harassment, it must be given the capital penalties. However, for non-violent offenders, community should rehalibitade and educate them socially not only to make criminals contribute effectively, but also deter them from recidivism.

In conclusion, governtments should use death judgements for serious crimes, while making a balance of rehalibiton and social reform for petty criminal behaviours in the way of giving a better quality of life for citizens.