Some people believe that harsher punishments reduce crime. Others argue that education and social reform are more effective solutions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Over the last few years, the question whether punishment can reduce crimes has become one of the most controversial ones in many part of the World. While some people strongly support the opinion that education and social reforms are more effective solutions. I will discuss both points of view and try to draw my own some conclusions.

On the one hand, it is commonly argued by some groups of people that punishment can decrease crimes. The first argument that they bring in order to support their point of view is that by strict law can encourage number of crimes. For example, strict laws scare criminals and may prevent them from committing crimes again. Another reason why they claim is that criminals are sent to prison. That is why it is prevent them from committing further crimes.

On the other hand, despite mentioned counter arguments, it is thought by others that education and social reforms are more effective. They think this is true mainly due to the facts that education depends on decreasing of crimes. For instance, unemployment and lack of access to education often drive individuals toward illegal activities to survive. Another main reason that they bring is that social reforms can help individuals return to a better life. Thus, it makes it clear that social reforms can help them through education and by providing opportunities.

To conclude, although some people support the idea that harsher punishment can decrease number of crimes, others advocate that education and social reforms can solve this problem. From my personal point of view, the real benefit can be realised only through education.